Afenyo-Markin to Replace Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu as Majority Leader

Article Audio Reading In Different Languages
Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

There are reports of a major shakeup within the New Patriotic Party (NPP), indicating that Alexander Afenyo-Markin, the current Deputy Majority Leader, is set to replace Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu as the Majority Leader and Minister for Parliamentary Affairs. While it remains unclear if Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu will retain his government role, he is likely to assume the position of Chairman for the NPP’s 2024 Manifesto Committee.

Frank Annoh Dompreh is expected to move from his role as the Majority Chief Whip to Deputy Majority Leader, creating room for Habib Iddrisu, the current First Deputy Chief Whip, to become the new Majority Chief Whip. Patricia Appiagyei is anticipated to be named the First Deputy Majority Chief Whip.

The recent nomination of Lydia Seyram Alhassan as Minister for Water Resources and Sanitation creates a vacancy for the Second Deputy Chief Whip, with sources suggesting that Alex Tetteh Djornobuah, MP for Sefwi-Akontombra, might fill the position.

The NPP’s National Council is scheduled for a crucial meeting on Monday to execute a reshuffle of the majority front bench, following President Akuffo-Addo’s recent Ministerial Reshuffle.

Meanwhile, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, the NPP flagbearer, is expected to unveil his campaign team today, with sources speculating that former Minister Dan Botwe may be named as the campaign manager for the upcoming 2024 general election.

Previous articleHon. Kwaku Kwarteng Advocates for Cost-Cutting Measures, Says MPs can do with Hilux instead of V8s
Next articleAkrofuom Assembly Presents Items Worth Gh66, 000 To PWDs To Support Their Livelihoods 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here